Out of Gas (Days 17 and 18)

I couldn’t resist making that the title of this post because I haven’t had any bloating since starting this diet.  Woo hoo!  However, there’s another interpretation of that phrase that also applies in my situation:  exhausted and out of energy.  Oh no!  I went for a very short walk on Day 17 and was out of breath after walking up some tiny hills.  Upon returning home, I felt like I wanted to pass out.  I even opted to sit on the floor for a while just in case.

This is what I remember from being in ketosis 10 years ago during my elimination diet.  I didn’t have the energy to handle even light exercise.  Thus, I’m not all that surprised by this experience.  However, it seems odd to me that this is still happening almost 3 weeks into this diet.  Perhaps it’s the lack of calories or perhaps it just takes longer for the body to adjust to exercising on this diet.

But then when I went out on Day 18 for a walk, I did much better.  I didn’t feel as winded during the walk nor as wiped out afterwards.  So maybe it’s just a work in progress.  Regardless, I’d obviously like to get to the point where simply walking around the neighborhood doesn’t feel like I’ve run several miles…

Meals Eaten:
Day 17
B- 3 fried eggs, lots of butter (salt)
L- 6 oz of 80/20 hamburger, 2 eggs, and 0.75oz of Monterey Jack cheese
D- 2 sliced side pork strips

Total stats for the day:
1239 cal, 106f, 69p.  (But I question the accuracy of this.  I honestly don’t know how to evaluate the sliced side pork since a lot of fat comes out when cooking.)
Fat cal to pro cal ratio:  954 to 276 = 77% to 23%

Day 18
B- 3 fried eggs, 1 tbsp butter (salt)
L- 6 oz of 80/20 hamburger, 2 eggs, and 0.75oz of Monterey Jack cheese
D- 2 strips of sliced side pork, 1 swai fillet cooked in the leftover pork grease

Total stats for the day:
1321 cal, 109f, 86p
Fat cal to pro cal ratio:  981 to 344 = 74% to 26%

Leave a Reply

