Symptoms Reflection After Week 1

At the end of each week on this diet, I’ll do a reflection of the positive and negative updates that have occurred in regards to my symptoms.

Positives
Bloating – Completely gone!
Diarrhea – Completely gone!  Both of these two symptoms vanished immediately upon starting this diet.  Thus, both are certainly correlated to something I was eating previously.
Skin rash – Starting to fade.  No longer looks as red/pink and is turning more of a light brown.
Singing voice – This was totally unexpected.  I play guitar and have always wanted to add voice to my music.  However, regardless of what I’ve tried in my life, singing has never been comfortable, or it’s simply hurt.  Hence, I rarely sing.  But I was messing around the other day, and it was easier and more comfortable to sing!  I have no idea why this would be the case and perhaps it’s completely unrelated, but I’ll take it.
Generally upbeat mood – Other people have reported this, and I’d say I also feel more positive in general.  However, that may have little to do with the diet and could just be that I’m grateful that all my most awful symptoms are gone!

Negatives
I’m going to split this into what I think are symptoms due to keto adaptation vs. not.

Keto Adaptation Symptoms
The flu symptoms – The first two days consisted of:  feeling very weak, very thirsty, often nauseous, having a rapid heartbeat, and being super tired.
Lightheadedness – However, I think this is also due to me not getting enough calories.
Leg cramps – I’ve noticed cramps in my left calf from time to time.  Nothing major, especially since I’ve read this is quite common when starting this diet.
Struggle to exercise – I took a short walk and really struggled coming up hills.  It felt like I was gasping for air.  But, again, not unexpected and should improve with time.

Other Symptoms
Back pain – Still there!  So, sadly, Zero Carb is not a panacea for all ails and troubles.  Too bad!  But not unexpected.
Stomach queasiness – Again, I still think this is tied to eating too much fat.  But it’s definitely not fun and has led to a few nights of really lousy sleep.
Lack of hunger/satiety signals – More details here, but I think this is something I’ll just have to adapt to on this diet.
Food desires – I am really missing pizza.  That was my favorite food, so I suppose it’s only natural to long for it.  The other thing that worries me is that I haven’t really cared much for steak so far, despite variations in cooking.  Since this diet heavily relies on beef, that may not be a good sign.
Weight loss – This is a negative for me since I don’t really need or want to lose any weight.  I don’t have accurate measurements since this wasn’t a concern for me, but I’d say I’ve lost about 7 pounds or so in this first week.
Kidney pain? – Not sure on this one.  Had some unusual discomfort on my sides around where the kidneys are.  Perhaps not enough water?  Something to watch for now.

Leave a Reply

